Starting again

So after a bit of an argument with a horse (spoiler alert: he won) I’ve been off running for 12 weeks. I had some pretty nasty soft tissue damage around my back and lower hip that took a very long time to heal. It’s been frustrating – I’ve been walking fine for a while, but there was this stubborn little patch which refused to go away. If I even took a few quick strides to finish crossing a road or jog up the last couple of stairs I could feel it right through my flesh, so I knew running was a bad plan.

So finally this afternoon I decided to venture back out. Moment of braveness, madness, possibly both. I was more than a little worried about the dent this might have made in my basic fitness (since I only started seriously exercising in January) and about whether I was truly healed enough. So when I wasn’t worried about aggravating an injury I was worried about my lungs giving out on me!

Thankfully, all is well. Hip twinged a couple of times but nothing to worry about, and I held up okay. At peak fitness I was routinely doing about half an hour/4k non-stop without too much trouble. Today I did two fifteen minute stretches with a three minute break between. I was more winded than usual, but not uncomfortably. After 12 weeks of sitting on my arse I will take that. That feels like a win.

It will feel less like one tomorrow when my muscles protest at being so abruptly woken back up, but take your victories where you can I always say…

Leave a Reply

